The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Everyone has that movie that they forget that they love until it comes on TV, or a particular line pops into your head, and you just HAVE to rewatch that part, and you just fall in love with it all over again. For me, that movie is “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”, an initially confusing movie that, on second watch, becomes absolutely lovable. Plus, can I just say “Emma Watson”? She’s, by far, my favorite actress in the history of actresses. I know, pretty epic.

The book was also lovable, but my favorite thing about the book was its size. It was one of those books that you pick up and just think, “this book is made for me to hold”. It’s the perfect thickness and length and width, as well as the perfect weight and the perfect amount of flexibility in the cover. I just loved holding it. It is so crazy, but so true.

I can’t say I’ve lived Charlie’s story, but I am definitely a wallflower myself. The difference is, I have no interest in jumping into the insanity of social circles. Honestly, it looks like too much work. The friendships I have made – the good ones, the ones that have lasted – were almost all accidental. They were parent-set up play dates, or a “hey, wanna room together on the band trip?” or a “let’s make gym class survivable” or “oh, you’re in this class, too?”. Suffice to say, I don’t think I’ve ever had to work to make friends – they just come along. 

Not to say that I reject social encounters all together. I like to think of myself as plenty friendly – if I’m walking across campus and see someone I know, I’ll say hi, maybe ask a question or two. I’m just not into the whole “my life revolves around my friends” sort of thing. I almost enjoy eating in the caf on my own sometimes. It’s that only-child in me that just wants to get out and away from other people for a while. 

One of my biggest issues with social groups is that I don’t get all of the social cues. I can’t understand the girls who go around touching up each other’s make-up (I suppose, I don’t wear make-up, so how could I?). That clever sarcastic response to something I said? There’s a fifty percent chance I didn’t catch the sarcasm. Girls going to the bathroom together – that is something that still blows my mind. Does it have to be the bathroom? I’ve been the poor girl who just has to use the bathroom, only to hear some people’s dramatic life stories from across the room. This conversation about Mac versus PC isn’t interesting to you? Well then, you should have said so, instead of trying to use body language that I can’t read. What are this, I ask of you. I suppose I know what this are, I just don’t know how to pick up on them.

Speaking of make-up, I am make-up blind. I rarely can tell if someone is wearing make-up, unless it is entirely too much or is so insane (glitter eyeshadow, anyone?) that it’s hard not to notice. That being said, I am almost terrified to put on make-up myself. My limit of make-up is eyeliner and mascara for special events – I don’t have the patience to do anything else. I draw the tiniest line of eyeliner and just a smidge of mascara, and I instantly feel like a…well, not a decent young lady, that’s for sure. Most people don’t even notice that I’m wearing anything, but the slightest bit difference in my around-the-eye coloring freaks me out. Don’t even get me started on fashion – that’s a whole other blindness/freak out thing.

It’s late, I have an 8AM class tomorrow (same as everyday), so…

TTFN, ta-ta for now.

Leave a Reply

